November 18, 2015

About the RPTC


Who We Are

The Rancho de los Peñasquitos Town Council is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization (tax id # 51-0562961) dedicated to serve, represent, and promote the activities and interests of all Rancho de los Peñasquitos. As a forum for discussion and resolution of community issues, the Town Council will communicate ideas, recommendations, and concerns that impact Rancho de los Peñasquitos to residents, other community organizations, private and commercial interests, and government agencies, as appropriate.

We are comprised of duly elected and appointed representatives from designated districts within Rancho de los Peñasquitos. Official business is conducted at regular or special meetings of the Town Council, at regular or special meetings of the Executive Committee, and at meetings of other committees established by the Town Council.

Click here to view the current Council members.

What We Do
RPTC activities focus on four main areas:

  • Fiesta de los Peñasquitos
  • Community Partners
  • Community Grants
  • Local Resource Hub

Our Funding
The RPTC is able to organize the Annual Fiesta de los Peñasquitos and provide community grants, sponsorships, and scholarships through generous contributions from:

  • City Council Funding (District 5 and District 6)
  • City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture Grant
  • San Diego County Community Enhancement Grant (District 3)
  • Local Business and Resident partnerships

We have the following committees and representatives dedicated to these areas of focus:


Executive, Grants, Code Compliance, Education, Government Affairs, Web & Print, Community Partners,
Health & Public Safety, Elections & Appointments, Fiesta


Maintenance Assessment Districts, Planning Board, Parks & Rec Council, Miramar Community Leaders Forum,
School Community Policing Program Collaborative, Poway Unified School District

Joining the Council
The Town Council is only possible because of the time and effort of those who volunteer. Elections for two-year terms are held every year at the Fiesta in May. Vacancies on the Council are filled year-round by appointment.

There are two representatives from each district and eight ˜Members-at-Large.` The eight districts are laid out to coincide with the elementary school boundaries as follows:

District 1- Adobe BluffsPQ-map1
District 2- Canyon View
District 3- Deer Canyon
District 4- Los Peñasquitos
District 5- Park Village
District 6- Rolling Hills
District 7- Sundance
District 8- Sunset Hills

NOTE: Please look at the map to determine your district.

If you would like to join the Council, please click here for more information and to fill out an application.

The Town Council shall refrain from supporting any partisan, sectarian, or special interests, including the publishing and distribution of statements in favor of or opposition to such interests. This is not to be construed as a limitation upon fund-raising efforts, solicitation of advertising, taking a position on an issue of concern to the community, or encouragement to neighborhood and special area groups in the promotion and advocacy of their own interests as they see them, but rather, it is to prevent inappropriate favoritism or bias.

Administrative Documents